HUMBLE & OBEDIENT

So this week was a usual moves week. Except the actual moves part, because the tube workers were on strike! Since there wasn’t very many tube trains running, everyone was using the buses and driving. The bus we take to Stratford Station usually takes 15-20 minutes to get there from our flat, but that moring it took a whole hour! It was crazy.

Tuesday night we went over to Caroline’s for dinner. She made us a 3 course meal, and it was SO much food! We had jalaf rice with beef, along with some soup, chicken, salad, and cake. It was really fun. At the end, Elder Rea bore his testimony to us all, mainly Caroline, and the spirit was so strong. She is doing great. She has been stressed about everything, but, after she talked to some members at church yesterday, she was fine. There was a child-of-record baptism after church that she stayed for, so that was great. Later in the day, I got a text from her asking me if I would be the one to baptize her. It really made me happy that she would trust me to do that, and really humbled me. I told her of course I would! She will have her baptismal interview tomorrow, and she should be able to be baptised on Saturday.

So I guess I’ll tell you about Elder Harding. He is from Pleasent Grove. He has been on his mission for 18 months, so it’s nice to have a companion that has a lot of experience. He knows his scriptures really well, something I lack in! I can tell you all about certain things, I can just never remember the reference! haha. He loves movies, and has been in a church movie about Joseph Smith, I forgot which one. He wants to be an actor, but he isn’t too sure about it. He loves the band Fun, so we have a lot fun singing their songs together. The whole time we have been together we have been quoting movies and having fun. We have also had some great talks about the gospel.

This week in correlation, Brother Watson, the ward mission leader, was talking to us all about being obedient. There are 4 new missionaries in the ward, 2 of them being fresh from the MTC. He told them about how ever since I got to Stratford, I have always done what he has asked me to do, and great things have happened. When he was talking about it, giving me praise for the good work that my companions and I have done, I really felt so happy. Since being in Stratford, I have really been working on being obedient. Obedient to the mission rules, the commandments, the Spirit, President Jordan, and to my other leaders. I have seen so many great things come from it. In the past, I would listen to the things that I was being told, but mostly just did what I thought was best. But, as I read dad’s emails every week, he ends them with saying “Humble and Obedient”, and I felt that I wasn’t doing my best in those departments. Now I am a lot more happy since trying to do better, and many great things have happened. I have A LOT to work on, but I’m excited for it. The gospel is so great, and as you ponder about the Atonement daily, you will see how big of an effect it has on your life. In reality, if it wasn’t for what Christ went through, we would be following the plan that Satan wanted to do. We wouldn’t be sad, mad, or get hurt. But, we would not know happiness, even the joy from being around people you love. In fact, there would be no love. Can you imagine? No love? It makes my eyes tear up just thinking about it. I love you all so much, and when life gets tough, just remember something that the Hyde Park Stake President, President Phillips, told us a couple weeks ago: “If the bitter cup does not pass, drink it.”

Love you all!!!!!!!!!!!

Elder Leavitt with twin brother's who are expecting their mission calls soon!

Elder Leavitt with twin brother’s who are expecting their mission calls soon!

Leave a Reply

