LEARNING TO BE HUMBLE

October 15, 2012

Yo yo yo everyone!  This week has been a lot better than last (woo, hoo!) and the area is getting better.  Thursday we had interviews with President and Sis. Jordan in Canterbury.  Before they started the interviews, they gave a super good training on how to study and organize your study journal, I loved it!  My Interview with Sis. Jordan was good.  She really helped me.  Up until then I had gotten kinda depressed and was having a hard time.  She helped me and answered questions and helped me understand my companion better.  I didn’t know that Aspergers Syndrome (which he has) is a form of Autism.  It made me think more and understand him better.  Then my interview with Pres. Jordan was great.  We talked about my companion issues and he said “maybe the Lord wants you to learn patience, but also soberness?”  I thought about that and maybe that is exactly what it is.  I need to be more serious and less sarcastic.  I have been trying, and it’s honestly really hard!  We then talked about a couple we are teaching and helped me think of things we could do better with them.

October 22, 2012

Hello!  Yes, it’s cold and wet!  Today is foggy.  Oh, by the way, all of my clothes are getting too big for me (yippee) but I figured I’ll just wait until December/ January to get some new ones since they are expensive.  Yes, mom, from walking so much and no chocolate and no sodas, that’s the main reason I am losing weight!!!

So, first off, Elder Young and I are doing fine.  This week we were really excited because we had 4 potential appointments and a bunch of member work.  We helped Sis. Coupar out with her garage, but we haven’t finished.  She’s really cool, about 70 years old.  All the old people in the ward are really funny and super english, ha, ha!!  I love it!!  We also helped Sis. Bolaji get a cabinet.  She’s from Nigeria and has like 10 kids!  They moved here about 6 years ago from Germany.  So they all speak German.  It’s so funny to see black people talk in African English and all of a sudden yell at each other in German!  She has such a strong testimony and is a great teacher.  Her son just moved home from Germany.  He’s been less active since he was 16 so we are teaching him.  He’s really cool.

We had a couple of different dinner appointments and things like that.  The highlight of the week was being with the youth a lot.  They are all exactly like me and my friends….just English!  Most of them are less active and so that’s been my main goal since getting here.  Steve is the strongest in the gospel.  He just got baptized my first week here.  He’s always asking us questions and wants to learn everything and he wants to go on a mission.  He’s awesome.  Most of the youth are always hanging out at the chapel playing sports, but never come to church.  I’m trying so hard to get them to come, but I’ll just have to try harder!  Sis. Jordan and I talked about it and we think that the youth here are what I’m supposed to be helping in this ward, and I think it is.  She also introduced to us a way to study that makes our study journals super organized and my studies have gotten so much better.  I’ve been studying humility and it helped me a lot.  I’ll be giving a talk on it on Sunday, so wish me luck!

I want to tell you all that I have a new motto in my life and it’s my new absolute favorite scripture.  It’s in Doctrine & Covenants 90:24.  “Search diligently, pray always, and be believing, and all things shall work together for your good, if ye walk uprightly and remember the covenant wherewith ye have covenanted one with another.”  I promise that if you search diligently, pray always, and be believing, miracles will come, you will be closer to Heavenly Father, and you will be so much happier.  I love you all and want you to know that I’m serving a mission for my Heavenly Father and his son Jesus Christ, to bring the sheep to the herd.  I’m serving for me to get closer to him and to know the gospel better and to learn it.  Lastly, I’m serving for my wonderful family.  All of you have helped me get to where I am.  If none of you would have helped me, I wouldn’t be helping the people that I am now.  Just remember that a huge reason the people I will be helping is because of you guys.  I love you all so much!

October 27, 2012

So I’m staying with Elder Young here in Gravesend, which I’m excited about!  So this week wasn’t too exciting.  We met with members mostly because we didn’t know if one of us was going to leave.  I really like the ward now, they are good.  Still way too small of a ward, but that’s why we are here!

I think I told you guys last time that I think the main reason I’m here is to get the less active young men back to church.  So far they haven’t come.  I will get them soon!  We got them to do some service with us yesterday, which is a literal miracle.  They never do anything!  What makes it even better is that is was for their Grandma.  She was SO surprised when we showed up with them, it was hilarious!  Ha ha!  So today we will be meeting with a family of 5!  It will be our first appointment with them and we are so excited.  They have 3 boys, all teenagers.  I’m hoping to get the youth involved to teach them with us.  We are sooooo excited!  Please keep me in your prayers!  I love you!

November 5, 2012

Hello all.  This week was good, kind of slow.  So our work with the youth has been successful so far.  All of the youth that came to church actually came in for sacrament meeting and didn’t stay in the hall!  This week I have gotten the chance to talk alot with Asher.  He is a young man in the ward and he actually cut my hair for me this week!  Asher is turning 18 in January.  He is alot like me and my friends, except English!  One night while everyone was playing basketball, he and I were in the chapel just talking.  He told me about how he really wants to serve a mission, especially because he wants to help people feel the happiness that he has felt from the Gospel.  Unfortunately, I don’t know when he would be able to leave.  He has Aspergers syndrome just like my companion but it’s worse.  He’s an awesome kid though.  My companion and I have been really good lately.  President called us last night to talk about a few things and when we were done with business he asked me if I was happy.  I told him that I’m great and happy and he told me that I have been blessed with great happiness that will help me and others in my life.  He told me that I needed to do whatever it took to stay happy all of the time.  I thought about that last night, and I am blessed with that.  I know there are times where I’m everything but happy, but I’ve been blessed to not let things bother me too much and to move on from them.  I’m sooo thankful for that.

Recently I’ve been reading my scriptures more.  I’ve learned so much and love to read.  We are so blessed to have the doctrine in our lives.  One thing I always think about is since there are so many more scriptures that we don’t have, why has Heavenly Father given us these?  The answer I always come up with is that he knows us so well, and this is exactly what we need.  Well, love you all so much and I hope to hear form everyone super soon!

Love, Elder Chase (Yase) Leavitt

One thought on “LEARNING TO BE HUMBLE

Leave a Reply

